The Gaslamp Killer Meets The Heliocentrics – Legna Deluxe LP

The Gaslamp Killer Meets The Heliocentrics – Legna Deluxe LP

The Heliocentrics, the genre-bending UK-based recording and production ensemble led by Malcolm Catto and Jake Ferguson, have been making waves with their eclectic sound that draws from an impressive array of influences. The group seamlessly blends funk, jazz, library music, psychedelic, electronica, and various world musics to create a sound that defies categorization.

Over the years, they’ve collaborated with the likes of Mulatu Astatke, DJ Shadow, Archie Shepp and Orlando Julius – further cementing their cult status as a pioneering force that has attracted a legion of discerning music heads around the world.

Meanwhile, the enigmatic Gaslamp Killer, born William Bensussen, has been making a name for himself on the other side of the pond with his unconventional approach to music. The Los Angeles-based DJ / producer has a deep well of knowledge when it comes to library music, psychedelic rock, bass-heavy instrumental hip-hop, Middle-Eastern / Indian rare grooves, and the dirtiest drums on earth.

In 2001, GLK dropped his first mixtape, aptly titled “The Gaslamp Killers,” which introduced Malcolm Catto’s first and only solo project, “Popcorn Bubble Fish.” Fast forward to 2009, Stonesthrow asked GLK to record a mix for a new band they were releasing called The Heliocentrics.

The stars would align a few years later, as The Heliocentrics would go on to tour with the GLK Experience as his backing band. This laid the groundwork for a monumental collaboration that was recorded at Quartermass Sound Lab, and would take many years to complete.
The resulting album is a testament to the unique sound and influences of both GLK and The Heliocentrics, and is a prime example of the groups’ experimental approach to music. The partnership showcases the Heliocentrics’ ability to effortlessly blend genres while GLK’s ear for rare and eclectic sounds further cements his status as one of the most innovative producers around.

This limited edition 12″ single LP comes in a deluxe case wrapped hardback outer sleeve with spot UV coating. High quality poly lined inner sleeves to protect the 160g virgin vinyl records.13 tracks including a download card that contains a digital bonus! Mixed by Malcolm Catto & Jake Ferguson at Quartermass Sound Lab. Mastered by Kelly Hibbert at Almachrome.

The cover features photography by Carlos Ximenez + Imaging and Layout by Blacksmith Branding.



A. Owusu – Electric Guitar
A. Yaghmai – Electric Guitar
B. Patkova – Vocals on ‘She’s Coming’
J. Yglesias – Percussion
J. Ferguson – Bass, Guitars, Synth, Effects
M. Catto – Drums, Guitars
O. Parfitt – Clavinet, Moog
R. Bush – Strings, Moog, Effects
W. Bensussen – Additional Writing, Arranging, and Editing

String arrangements: J. Ferguson and R. Bush
Additional Writing, Arranging, and Editing: W. Bensussen
Mixing: J. Ferguson and M. Catto
Recorded at: Quatermass Studios, Hackney, London
Mastering: K. Hibbert at Almachrome



Out of stock